Who Am I?

I have been reading the most wonderful book by Jennifer Luitwieler, called Run With Me: An Accidental Runner and the Power of Poo. It’s the most amazing story, and I just LOVE her sense of humor. The book, in short, is about one woman’s journey with how she became a runner, her struggle with depression, and learning to love life and herself again. I have yet to finish the book because it speaks so true to me and my own struggles. I posted the other day about my struggle with depression, and this book really tugs on the heartstrings.

This book has got me to wondering, who am I? What makes me who I am? and all those other “fun” questions we all like to ask ourselves! I want to share an excerpt from the book that I keep coming back to and re-reading:

“When famous writers give speeches or presentations, they are often asked a question like, “How do you become a writer?” The answer rarely differs. Now, these people know how to follow a playbook. They usually reply: “To be a writer, you must write every day. That makes you a writer.” The people who ask this question are never satisfied with this answer, and they will continue to ask it at every possible event; this is not the magic-pill they sought…

And then I went for the big guns: “I am  a writer.”…

…this kind of deciding to be a writer carries a heavy weight. It means that in every day, the discipline to write and to pursue an idea or dream must take precedence over other things. It means that when I hurt, I still have to write. And this is the hard part because people don’t always feel happy. We don’t always feel amazing, genius and infectious. Sometimes we feel we abused, used, sad or angry. Sometimes days just suck.”

What makes you who are is by what you do every day, regardless of how you feel. If you want to be a writer, you must write every day. If you want to be a runner, you need to run every day. If you want to be happy, you must do what makes you happy everyday. If you want to be forgiven, you must forgive every day. If you want to be loved, you must love everyday. If you want to be sober, you must be sober ever day. The list goes on and on and on.

I could share with you what I want to be, but really it only matters to me and to God. Then I must follow through with each thing every.single.day, regardless of how I feel, because “sometimes days just suck”. If I can be disciplined enough to do these things that matter most to me every day, I know I can look back in 10, 30, or 50 years and say I’m so glad I stuck with it!

Now I want to know, who are you? And do you have enough discipline to be who you want to be every day?

Learning to walk in Christ,

Chelsea

One thought on “Who Am I?

  1. Very Cool!

    I can’t find a like button on your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

